PINJAR (Chandra Prakash Dwivedi, 2003)

A Gone with the Wind-ishly panoramic melodrama and family soap opera, which includes as its central event the 1947 Partition of India, Chandra Prakash Dwivedi’s Pinjar, based on Amrita Pritam’s novel, shamelessly views this heartrending time from a parochial, partisan perspective. This is an extravagant Hindi/Bollywood film, not a serious consideration of the Partition or […]

MERCI POUR LE CHOCOLAT (Claude Chabrol, 2000)

“I’m nothing. . . . Instead of loving I say, ‘I love you,’ and everyone believes me. . . I calculate everything.” In Claude Chabrol’s sarcastically titled, suspenseful and deliciously funny Thanks for the Hot Chocolate, eighteen-year-old piano student Jeanne Pollet tracks down the rumor that she and (of course, eighteen-year-old) Guillaume Polonski were switched […]